Our Mission

Creating a climate for business and industry investment, innovative entrepreneurship and quality job creation in Macon County, North Carolina.


Our Board

Macon County Economic Development Commission


  Member Name Company Organization
  Johnny Mira-Knippel (Chair) TekTone Sound & Signal
  David Hubbs (Vice-Chair) Balsam West (Retired)
  Barbara McRae (Secretary) Town of Franklin
  Ken Murphy Attorney (Retired)
  Mark West Duke Energy (Retired)
  Brian Stiehler Town of Highlands
  Jim Breedlove Franklin Chamber of Commerce
  Steve Chenoweth Wayah Insurance (Retired)
  Bill Frutal Highlands Chamber of Commerce
  Roger Plemens Entegra Bank
  Cory McCall Outdoor 76
  Brett Murphy Arrowood Construction
  Karl Gillespie County Commission Board Liaison
  Ronnie Beale County Commission Board Liaison
  Derek Roland County Manager
  Tommy Jenkins EDC Director


2018 Meeting Schedule

SCC - Macon Center - Siler Farm Road - Franklin, NC 28734
Entegra Bank - 473 Carolina Way - Highlands, NC 28741


  Date Time Location
  January 11 5:30pm SCC - Macon Center
  March 08 5:30pm SCC - Macon Center
  April 16-20   BizWeek 2018 | Celebration of Economic Diversity
  May 10 5:30pm Entegra Bank - Highlands
  July 12 5:30pm SCC - Macon Center
  September 06 5:30pm SCC - Macon Center
  November 08 5:30pm Entegra Bank - Highlands

Get in

Tommy Jenkins, Economic Development Director
(828) 369-2306 or EDC@maconnc.org.
Located in the "Center Of It All" in the southwestern North Carolina mountains, Macon County is surrounded by thousands of acres of National Forest with a multitude of recreational opportunites as well as a relaxing pace of life. »See For Yourself

Celebrating Economic Diversity